Slowdive Announce First Album in 22 Years, Share New Track

British shoegazing pioneers Slowdive have announced their first new album in 22 years, a self-titled record due out on May 5th.

The band released their first single, "Star Roving," in January, and shared an official music video for a new track from Slowdive along with the album announcement, "Sugar for the Pill." 

The band reformed in January 2014 and played a number of festivals in Europe and North America before heading to the studio in 2015-16 to record their first new material since 1995's Pygmalion.

Slowdive broke up in 1995, shortly after the release of Pygmalion. It was around that time that the entire shoegazing genre was dying off due to the commercial success of grunge. Since then, many artists have been influenced by Slowdive in the early 2000s movement known as nu-gaze, including M83, Deerhunter, Silversun Pickups and Deftones.

The band is touring Europe and the US in support of Slowdive, including a show at the 9:30 Club on May 7th.

Slowdive Tracklist:

  1. Slomo
  2. Star Roving
  3. Don't Know Why
  4. Sugar for the Pill
  5. Everyone Knows
  6. No Longer Making Times
  7. Go Get It
  8. Falling Ashes

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content