Eric Clapton played the first of his eight scheduled U.S. dates for 2017 last night at New York's Madison Square Garden. He'll play the second tonight.

He kicked off the 15-song set with "Key to the Highway," the first of three songs he'd play off Derek and the Dominos' Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs. That was followed by "Badge," the first of three songs he'd do from his days with Cream. The show also included his two biggest pop hits in the U.S., his chart-topping cover of Bob Marley's "I Shot the Sheriff" and the number-two "Tears in Heaven."

Clapton was joined by both his opening acts, Jimmie Vaughan and Gary Clark Junior, for his final encore number, the Bo Diddley song "Before You Accuse Me." After tonight, Clapton's remaining dates will be two shows at the Forum in L.A. March 25th and 26th plus two each at the Garden and the Forum again in September.

Last Night's Setlist:

  1. "Key to the Highway"
  2. "Badge"
  3. "I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man"
  4. "I Shot the Sheriff"
  5. "Driftin' Blues"
  6. "Nobody Knows You When You're Down and Out"
  7. "Tears in Heaven"
  8. "Layla"
  9. "Somebody's Knocking"
  10. "Wonderful Tonight"
  11. "Cross Road Blues"
  12. "Little Queen of Spades"
  13. "Cocaine"

photo credit - iHM archive

Lisa Berigan

Lisa Berigan

Want to know more about Lisa Berigan? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on BIG 100! Read more


Content Goes Here