ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME Induction Night Tonight

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame will hold its 32nd annual induction ceremony tonight (Friday) at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. This year's honorees are:

  • Journey (first time on the ballot) inducted by Pat Monahan of Train
  • Joan Baez (first time on ballot) inducted by Jackson Browne
  • Yes (third nomination) inducted by Geddy Lee and Alex Lifeson of Rush
  • Electric Light Orchestra (first time on ballot) inducted by George Harrison's son Dhani
  • Pearl Jam (first year of eligibility) inducted by David Letterman, filling in for a sick Neil Young
  • Tupac Shakur (first year of eligibility) inducted posthumously by Snoop Dogg
  • Nile Rodgers Award for Musical Excellence presented by Pharrell Williams

A few other facts and figures:

  • This is the second induction for former Journey keyboardist Gregg Rolie, who is already in as a member of Santana
  • Former Journey singer Steve Perry will attend according to Journey keyboardist Jonathan Cain.
  • Jon Anderson from Yes said that Geddy Lee from Rush will play bass for Yes in place of the late Chris Squire at the ceremony.  
  • Nile Rodgers is receiving the Award for Musical Excellence after his group Chic was unsuccessfully nominated 11 times, more than any other act.
  • Lenny Kravitz will perform a tribute to Prince
  • Expect the closing jam session to include a Chuck Berry song

Artists become eligible for nomination 25 years after the release of a recording.

Tonight's ceremony will air on HBO on April 29th.



Want to know more about Bodhi? Get their official bio, social pages & articles on BIG 100! Read more


Content Goes Here