Def Leppard released their fourth studio album, Hysteria, on August 3, 1987.

It is the band's most successful album.  They sold 20 million copies of the album worldwide.  It was charted at No. 1 in both the United States and the UK.  Hysteria featured seven hit singles: Women, Rocket, Animal, Love Bites, Pour Some Sugar On Me, Armageddon It, and Hysteria.

Hysteria was a proper name for this album.  Drummer Rick Allen thought of the title.  It refers to the 1984 car accident that took his left arm and the worldwide media coverage that followed.

At the time of Allen's accident, Def Leppard was preparing a follow-up to 1983's Pyromania.  But, everything was put on hold and the band stood by Allen.  Eventually, the drummer returned with a special kit that allowed him to continue with the band, despite only having one arm.