Red Hot Chili Peppers bassist Flea has formed a new group with former members of Mars Volta, Omar Rodriguez-Lopez, Cedric Bixler-Zavala and Dave Elitch.  The band is called Antemasque.

Flea played bass on two songs for Mars Volta's 2003 debut album, De-Loused in the Comatorium and trumpet on the band's 2005 album Frances the Mute.  Rodriguez-Lopez recently collaborated with former Red Hot Chili Peppers guitarist John Frusciante on the Kimono Kult project.

In addition to his work with the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Flea worked with Radiohead's Thom Yorke on yet another band, Atoms For Peace.  He will also write a memoir.